About & Contact

The Virginia Beach Genealogical Society was founded in 1983 near the site of the first landing of the Jamestown colonists at Cape Henry. Although some members are primarily interested in local genealogy, most of the Society’s membership, like the city of Virginia Beach itself, is drawn from both civilian and military families who have come here to live. As a result, this is a group with far-flung areas of research interest.

The Virginia Beach Genealogical Society was established for:

  • Aiding individuals in genealogical research and compiling family histories.
  • Providing lectures and instruction on how best to do genealogical research.
  • Promoting an interest in genealogy throughout the community.

VBGS 2020 Officers: Front row: Peg Niedholdt, Barbara, Murray, Linda Brown, Wendy Bransom, Brian Baldwin; Back row: Bob Bruce, Bobbie Brenton, Jo Given, Rachel Greenberg


Leadership and Contact info

Feel free to contact us with questions, comments, or concerns.
If you aren’t sure who to contact, message the administrator at admin@vbgsva.net.
Members at large are a bridge between the membership and board, contact them for general items you don’t want to go through anyone else for.

VBGS Board Members

President: Wendy Bransom
email: president@vbgsva.net
Member at Large 1: Brian Baldwin
email: memberatlarge1@vbgsva.net
Vice President: Heather Wright
email: vicepresident@vbgsva.net
Member at Large 2: Peg Niedholdt
email: memberatlarge2@vbgsva.net
Secretary: Sam Williams
email: secretary@vbgsva.net
Member at Large 3: Bobbie Brenton
email: memberatlarge3@vbgsva.net
Treasurer: Rachel Greenberg
email: treasurer@vbgsva.net
Member at Large 4: Linda Brown
email: memberatlarge4@vbgsva.net
Past President: Craig Fenton
email: pastpresident@vbgsva.net (active soon)

Committees, Groups, and Other Contacts

Computer User Group: Linda Brown, chair
email: computerusergroup@vbgsva.net
Newsletter Editor: Wendy Bransom
email: newsletter@vbgsva.net
Education Committee: Heather Wright, chair
email: education@vbgsva.net
Administrator: Bobbie Brenton
email: admin@vbgsva.net
Writers Group: Carol Johnson, chair
email: writersgroup@vbgsva.net
Webmaster: Carmen Cross
email: webmaster@vbgsva.net
Social Committee: Debby Christian, chair
email: social@vbgsva.net
Membership Committee: Duane Harding, chair
email: membership@vbgsva.net
Publicity Committee: Barbara Murray, chair
email: publicity@vbgsva.net
Program Committee: Bob Bruce, chair
email: program@vbgsva.net
Archivist: Peg Niedholdt
email: archivist@vbgsva.net
Librarian: Brian Baldwin
email: librarian@vbgsva.net

For more information on the committees and groups Click here.

For a copy of our bylaws Click here.

%d bloggers like this: